SEE: Munch Museet

Last week I headed out to East-Oslo to spend some time at the Munch Museum. (A little FYI for Oslo visitors: the museum is free during the Fall/Winter months.) You are probably aware that Edvard Munch (pronounced “Moonk”) is responsible for the wonderfully eerie painting The Scream:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anxiety-ridden as it may look, I love this painting…the colors, the curvy lines, the hollow eyes. Munch had this to say about inspiration for The Scream: “I was walking down the road with two friends when the sun set; suddenly, the sky turned as red as blood. I stopped and leaned against the fence, feeling unspeakably tired. Tongues of fire and blood stretched over the bluish black fjord. My friends went on walking, while I lagged behind, shivering with fear. Then I heard the enormous, infinite scream of nature.” (Do I need to tell you that Munch wasn’t the happiest of guys?)

Before this museum visit, I hadn’t been exposed to much Munch, so I was happy to see a large range of his work. The current exhibition focused on his nudes, but they also had a wonderful collection of his lithographs, woodcuts and other hollow-eyed beauty.

Opening wall of exhibition
Woman’s Head Against the Shore, woodcut 1899 
Red Virginia Creeper, 1898-1900
Eye in Eye, 1894

I noticed that the blanket in this self-portrait of Munch closely resembled the design on the outside of the building. I asked an employee if it was intentional, but she wasn’t sure. (I love these little kinds of details!)

Between Bed and Clock, 1942
Outside wall of Munch Museum

It was a really nice visit and a wonderful space dedicated to Norway’s most famous artist. You can read more about Munch here.

Closing wall of exhibit

As I exited the museum, I noticed this strange portable building across the street. It turned out to be a contemporary art gallery, so I popped in long enough to be unaffected by the contemporary art, explore the funky, modern space, pat a doggie’s head and snap this shot of their neat ceiling.

Munch Museum, Tøyengata 53, Oslo (metro stop Tøyen)

GAD Contemporary Art Gallery, across the street from Munch Museum

3 thoughts on “SEE: Munch Museet

Leave a Reply

